Premed 101 Forums

So how would this work? Msc.

Hi everyone,

I'm in my last year of a Bsc (thank goodness) and will be starting my Msc in the fall. Ultimately my goal is to get into medical school, but im doing a Msc for a few reasons: my GPA is a bit on the low side for applications, I think a Msc will help that a bit, I enjoy science/research a lot and the research my lab does is mostly clinical which is a perk, etc.

ANYWAY, my question is: Most medical schools state that you must be done your defense/thesis before classes start. (Sept in most schools, July 30th in some like UofC). I want to apply in the second/final year of my Msc, but I guess you dont find out if you get in until May at the very earliest..which leaves virtually no time to write up a thesis before the start date, meaning you'd have to start before to finish.

I guess what im asking is if anyone has been in this situation? Do you do your Msc with the premise you WILL be done by Sept no matter what? (ie: You forgo the option of switiching to the PhD program in the same lab). Or has anyone frantically written up before Sept in just a few months?

I suppose the answer to this could be to do a sightly longer Msc, and then apply in the 3rd year, but I absolutely want to be done in 2 years at the max.

Any advice? Sorry for the convulated post. =(.

Hmmm? When I worked in a lab, people were doing their defense in April and June, so I doubt that finishing your thesis before September would be difficult - unless, of course, there's some sort of last-minute disaster with your experiment.

It's possible to be done with most of your actual lab work in 1st year, as well, there were people like that in my lab - that left them an entire year to go through their data and write their thesis.

Ok, thats good to hear. I have been doing my undergrad thesis + 2 summers in this lab, so I expect to have my lab experiements out of the way fairly early.