Premed 101 Forums

Transferring med schools - an impossible dream?

Hi all,

To anyone who might be able to help me out with this: I will be forever in your debt! I'm a student in second year meds at a Canadian school who would like to apply to transfer to Memorial for clerkship.

From what I understand, transfers happen only under "rare circumstances," if at all. If you or someone you know has successfully transferred med schools, I would appreciate ANY help or advice you might have on how to go about it!

Thanks so much!!! I anxiously await your replies :o

Thanks guys

NLengr - this "sudden desire" is the result of my partner having matched to Memorial for residency! *sigh* :) Let's just say, I live rather far away from NL.

Mourning Cloak - I'm not actually an IMG, I'm just an OOP - but it is good to know about Dal, thanks!

I think it depends on availability and your reasons. I have heard of two cases: one who successfully transferred to be closer to a seriously ill family member; the other who unsuccessfully requested a transfer to be with her fiance. There are always a small number of students who transfer, drop out, or sadly die before graduating. The only way to find out if there is a spot available is to ask... there's no harm in asking.

Thanks guys

NLengr - this "sudden desire" is the result of my partner having matched to Memorial for residency! *sigh* :) Let's just say, I live rather far away from NL.

I agree with Garance, you should definitely ask. I think your reason is valid and I think it might work if the conditions are right & there's a spot available.

Best of luck, hope it works!

If you find out that you cannot transfer, I just wanted to say, that come 4th year you probably won`t even be around that much anyway.

With away electives and carms, I was out of town/out of country for most of the year. At Ottawa, we only have 4 weeks of clinical work that we have to do in Ottawa in 4th year.