Premed 101 Forums

UofA students: which courses fulfill the prereq requirements

Hi guys,

I searched the forums and couldn't find a recent answer to my question. How can I find out which courses taken at UofA will be accepted by the UofA med school as meeting prereq requirements ? Also, if there are courses which were not taken at UofA, how can I find it if they could also help in meeting the prereq requirements?

Thanks,

Hi guys,

I searched the forums and couldn't find a recent answer to my question. How can I find out which courses taken at UofA will be accepted by the UofA med school as meeting prereq requirements ? Also, if there are courses which were not taken at UofA, how can I find it if they could also help in meeting the prereq requirements?

Thanks,

Phone the registrar office, and tell them exactly what your concern is.

I'm a 4th year student at the UofA and a med hopeful. In my first year I came across an awesome sheet of paper from the Faculty of Science listing all the Med prereqs, and as far as I know they are accurate and up-to-date (As of March of this year they hadn't changed.. to my knowledge anyways):

ENGL 111, 112, 113, or 114

BIOL 107 & 108 (or 107 and 207... or 108 and 208... basically any 2 bio courses)

CHEM 161/261 & 263 (Ochem)

CHEM 101 & 102 (General Chem)

BIOCH 200 (Biochem 200)

PHYS 124/126 or 144/146 (basically either calculus physics or non calculus physics. 2 courses worth)

STAT 141/151 (one course of stats)

Those are all the required prereqs. As for courses taken at other universities, I'm not sure. I know the chemistries and bios need to have lab components with them, but other than that, I'm not sure.

If you haven't taken the MCAT (and are a UofA student, which I assume you are from what you said), I STRONGLY recommend taking Physiology 210 (or 211). It'll help tons with it, since Bio 107/108 don't cover the body systems at all.

Hope this helps! (Any other questions-I'm happy to help)

Guest rpuff