Premed 101 Forums

Clerkship experience

hi,

i am a 3rd year medical student at Dow University of Health Sciences Karachi, Pakistan.

I am interested in doing electives at Uoft In cardiology or oncology.Can any one please help me out with it. i

1.Can you guide me about the mode of electives? means is this an observership, teaching sessions or what? will we be taught any thing there? will we be allowed to perform any skills on patients like history taking or physical? please help me out with this...

2. At the time of electives, I'll be in my early fourth year. is this a suitable time for me to pursue this elective? In other words, will the information gained or provided be appropriate at my (early 4Th year) level. .

3. i am also planing to apply in cardilogy or oncolgy. is this a good choice for electives? in your views which fields are much better for electives at Toronto University?

will appreciate your response in this regard