Premed 101 Forums

Cegep student here that needs to be yelled at

Marko

I'm a Health Science student at Brébeuf. I took spanish instead of english (huge mistake).

My all-time dream is to get into medicine (any Quebec or Canadian university is good enough for me). Here's the problem: I went to a high school with a total of 250 students. I was ranked #1 because kids in that school didn't give a crap about studying. I had some minor competition in sec 5 but I was still ranked first. I got SO pompous and full of myself that I basically thought I was invincible. This is partially my parents and teachers fault because they kept congratulating me for nothing.

I get into Cegep and I hit a brick wall pretty hard. This crap is WAY harder than I expected. Newtonian physics sucks most of the time (though I sometimes enjoy it), I hate calculus, I hate spanish, I hate litterature and humanities. The only classes I love are Chemistry and friggin weightlifting class (its called ''Mise en forme''). Overall my teachers are *okay*..they could do a better job explaining stuff... Since the start of the semester, I worked my ass off and scored pretty average grades so far (between 60 to 80%). In the past two weeks, I basically stopped everything. I've suddenly become lazy. I dont see the point in studying if I'm gonna score average...

I volunteer once a week at a hospital here in Montreal, and even that feels like a burden sometimes. I dont know what's happening to me. How did you guys manage to pull through all of this? Do I just need to suck it up and work my ass off or should I just let it pass and get a undergrad before applying for medical school? I'm gonna have a crappy R-score this semester either way.

My undergrad options: either neuroscience, biochemistry or microbiology. Are these very competitive programs? Lets say I score an R-score of 28 in cegep, what are my chances of making it into these programs?