Premed 101 Forums

Another mature applicant ready to take the plunge - need some advice :)

First of all, thank you everyone who has posted here with all the great inspirational and informative threads. This is actually the first forum that I have read from the first page all the way to the last page and finally gave me the courage to write this post and introduce myself to you all. Like many immigrants to this great country, I came here with my parents back in 1999 (when I was 15) to pursue a better life and education. Back in Singapore where I immigrated from, I was a very strong science student and in grade 7 equivalent, I would stay in the library on days end to read university level biology and anatomy books and get into great conversation with university level students.

However after immigrating to Canada (parent’s wish), I became highly depressed for several years due to a variety of reasons – cultural shock, different education system and most importantly, the total lack of science emphasis in high school here which totally killed my motivation. This eventually led me to give up my science dream and only took biology up to grade 11 level. When it finally came to university selection time, I chose UofT Scarborough’s Bachelor of Business Admin program and graduated in 2008. Due to financial issues, I had to work about 30 to 40 hours/week during my entire undergrad years to support myself and my family which of course negatively impacted my overall GPA and graduated with only a 2.6 cGPA. I did have two years of stellar GPA of 3.7 and above but family deaths at home in my last year caused me to miss many classes and fail a course, which dragged it to oblivion.