Premed 101 Forums

doing a thesis based masters vs. a course based/professional one

anon1234

hi guys

i want to go to grad school and i am in my 4th year now. i am debating which type of masters i should go for. i currently work at a lab, i did a summer project in the same lab and am doing a work study there now. my supervisor is really nice and i have known him for about a year or so now. his work is in the field of genetics......i have not approached him to ask if he would be willing to take me in his lab as a grad student just yet.

one of my very knowledgable profs said that it was good if i was this profs MSc student, but that my grad work would be valuable if i was able to have a first author paper or two.....that this would be valuable for the U of T grad review policy.

now i went to discuss this with the PhD student in my lab and asked him what he thought - since he's been with our prof for about 5 years now. he kept telling me (and has done so on prior occasions too) that i should just try to get into some kind of a professional MSc degree, because suppose i do an MSc in genetics, and still do not make it to med school - what would i do next?

my answer to this was that i would try again, because i have my mind made up that i want to do medicine. i do not want to do physiotherapy etc because i don't ever plan on working as a physiotherapist. i would finish that, MAYBE work on year or two but then i would still apply to med school....so is it worth it? i could use those 2 years to do research and maybe find something good? then again there is the payoff of having an MSc but no admittance to med school which is quite possible!

so what i am trying to say here is: i need to do a masters.......and i'm confused about what is better - a research based masters, or a professional type MSC, keeping in mind that in the long run, i definitely plan on going to med school at some point in my life, even if it is not in canada!