Premed 101 Forums

Too dumb for med?

Hi everyone,

Just stumbled on this site while trying to figure out what, if anything, I should be doing with my life.

I'm closing in on 30 and the last time I was in school was nearly 10 years ago when I flunked out of a community college program (my first semester I had all F's and was kicked out).

I had a difficult time making the transition from high school to University. In high school, I was an average student who did nothing to get by. A few months into college I was being destroyed in my classes and just gave up. I used to show up to school just to use the internet since I didn't have it at home.

I have since taken a few licensing courses and actually managed to get a management position at an investment bank. I have had a chance to work with some great people that run Wall Street and the experience is unreal.

I know I would be hard pressed to ever make the money I'm making now in any other position, especially considering my lack of academic credentials. I currently make about $150 a year however this can be much larger once I'm in my 40's.

While the money is a huge motivator, I'm making enough money at a young enough age to know that being able to buy nice things is not what's going to keep me going for the next 35 - 40 years.

I have always had a massive amount of respect for physicians and considered pursuing it but discounted myself since I had average grades in high school and pretty much the worst possible experience in a post secondary environment.

What options are there for me?