Premed 101 Forums

Grad Student trying for med school

Hi everyone! First time poster, long time lurker around here. Thank goodness I found this place, what an incredible resource.

I'll give you the full background as succinctly as I can manage. If you want the short version just skip the background. I sincerely appreciate any feedback.

Background

I have wanted to be a doctor since I knew what a doctor was, it was a childhood dream. I excelled in school with ease, managing A's in highschool without very much effort. I entered into university and got somewhat of a rude awakening that my terrible study habits weren't going to afford me the same grades as they did in highschool. I still managed A's and B's. I ended up taking 4 courses per semester (with labs- I majored in Biology), not realizing that could impact my medical school application. After 30 credit hours we were required to meet with our academic advisor and declare our major. I met with her, she took my form, looked at my grades and asked what I wanted to do. I said I wanted to go to medical school... to which she replied that there were hundreds of other students who wanted the same thing with much better grades than me. She said I would not get in without essentially straight A's.

I was pretty down in the dumps by this point. I decided I'd take organic chemistry in the summer to try to catch up on my courses. They were condensed, instead of a normal semester they were a month and a half. Combined with it being summer and my working, I ended up getting a C and a C-. Never in my life had I had grades that low. This was about rock bottom and combined with my professors comment of "If you guys don't score A's or A+'s in this class you're not getting into medical school"... I figured my chances were shot.