Premed 101 Forums

love or surgery?

Don't know if any of you watch Grey's Anatomy, but last night's episode brought up a good point about the practice of medicine and sacrifices (although what a terrible episode! everyone's breaking up!).

So if you had to chose what would you choose: love (having a romantic relationship with a man/woman that you love) or surgery (being a doctor and being able to do all the things that come with that role)?

Personally, I agreed with Izzie. I'm not a doctor so maybe my opinion is naive but she said it the way I thought it: being a doctor is a job, its what you come home FROM not what you come home TO. But that's just me. What would you guys choose? (And no cheating by choosing both! I know it's possible to chose both and be very happy/succesful but that takes the fun out of the question)

Love, obviously. I would worry about anyone who'd prefer a job over human relationships.

That's what I thought too! Sadly, I asked my friends this question (many of who have med school ambitions) and I'm the only one out of EIGHT that chose love! They all said medicine because "finding someone to love is much easier then going through all the hurdles it requires to be a doctor, so it would be easier to give up".

I think I need new friends lol :P

That's what I thought too! Sadly, I asked my friends this question (many of who have med school ambitions) and I'm the only one out of EIGHT that chose love! They all said medicine because "finding someone to love is much easier then going through all the hurdles it requires to be a doctor, so it would be easier to give up".

I think I need new friends lol :P

Then they've never really been in love.

If you can find someone to love and spend you life with, then you won't give a **** about your job or his/her job or anything else.

My sibling's colleague got into a general surgery residency. She was hardcore and a keener. She married right after graduation, before residency began.