Premed 101 Forums

Am I Crazy? (thinking about med school)

I'm 28 years old. I'm currently in my first year of law school and I wish I could be in my first year of med school. I've always loved science and my life was saved by medicine when I was very young, so I do have a sincere reason for wanting to go to med school.

The problem is that I have an undergraduate and a graduate degree in music but no science courses. My grades are quite good: 3.7 (on 4.0) GPA from undergrad, and all A- or A+ in my Master's.

Am I crazy for even thinking of medicine as a possibility? I'd have to do all the prerequisites, write the MCAT and then apply. I'm already in law school but my heart is not really in the legal profession - it was just a "relatively" smooth transition from music, since there are no prereqs it's a lot easier to get into than med school.

Any ideas, advice?

Thanks!

You would have an ok shot based on your gpa. It depends on your province of residence and extra-curriculars though. Do you have any volunteer or paid experience of the health care field? If I were you I would continue on with law school, take some pre-reqs and the MCAT on the side and then make a decision after that.

Go for it...

One of my good friends and former colleague (now in medical school) was also a law student first...she dropped out because her heart was not into...she did have science courses though...and after law she did a MSc in epidemiology...however medical schools look for people with diverse backgrounds...takes some pre-reqs write ur MCAT and go for it!

AndreaM:

I'm in Ontario. Extra-curriculars aren't great but I did volunteer at a Wild Bird Care Centre (mending broken wings etc.).

I know I'd have a good sell with diversity, but my concern is that I'd be starting from scratch taking science prereqs...going back to undergrad is a depressing thought after all the years of school I've already been through.