Premed 101 Forums

Sponsorship

I'm a Canadian medical student studying in Pakistan.

This summer I found an elective in Radiology in Johns Hopkins.

The only problem is that its incredibly expensive for me to fly all the way to America. Also paying in dollars when you earn in rupees is very difficult.

Does anybody know of any companies or programs that I can contact that might be willing to sponsor me to learn from a professor in Hopkins? Or perhaps find a way to get a discount on airfare...

I'm a Canadian medical student studying in Pakistan.

No, you're a Canadian studying medicine in Pakistan. You'll still end up as a IMG.

This summer I found an elective in Radiology in Johns Hopkins.

The only problem is that its incredibly expensive for me to fly all the way to America. Also paying in dollars when you earn in rupees is very difficult.

That's strange. If you're a Canadian, you flew all the way to Pakistan didn't you? Not sure if you're up on your geography, but Canada and the US are pretty darn close, so how did you afford the flight ticket there if you can't afford one back?

Also, I know for a fact even at the cheapest Pakistan medical school, as a Canadian you'd be paying $10,000+ in tuition per year. There are many cheaper medical schools in Canada. If cost was such an issue, why did you leave?

(Actually, we all know why you left, but you put yourself into that financial situation, not us)

Does anybody know of any companies or programs that I can contact that might be willing to sponsor me to learn from a professor in Hopkins? Or perhaps find a way to get a discount on airfare...

Hahaha.. Really, and what exactly would they get out of it? Better yet, what would society get out of sponsoring such things?

This is the most selfish post I've seen in a while... then again, explains why no one wanted you here.

Wow... someone has unresolved issues.

1. Thank you for the clarification.

2. I can't afford a ticket back to Canada either at the moment.