Premed 101 Forums

Important Admissions requirement questions!

This is excerpt from the Western Medical School admissions guidelines.

*Honours degree or equivalent: applicants must have taken sufficient senior level courses during the second, third, and fourth year of their 4-year program to enable them to be eligible for admissions into a graduate (Master’s Degree) program. Applicants should note that the level of courses must correspond to the “year” of their program. For example, if a student is registered in the third year of their undergraduate degree program, then three out of the five courses must be at the third year level.

Here are the questions:

1. If I am in fourth year, does that mean in order to be eligible for medical school, I must take three 4th year level classes?

2. And what happens if in my second year, I took 1 first year class, 2 second year classes and 2 3rd year classes (not the desired 3 second year classes). Technically, I went over and above, but does this void my second year as eligible for weight GPA? And does this void me completely from being accepted into the Western medical school?

3. Does the passage above only refer to the the weighted GPA years, or all of our years at University?

Sorry I am still a little confused.

1. So in fourth year, I need to take 3 classes that are 300 level or 400 level?

2. Am I ok if I only took 2 200 level courses in second year but had other 300 level courses?

I also found these newer guidelines in the 2009-2010 admissions paper.

Honours degree or equivalent: applicants must have taken sufficient senior level courses during the second, third, and fourth year of their 4-year program to enable them to be eligible for admissions into a graduate (Masters Degree) program.

Sorry for all the questions, but does this mean that 200 level courses count as senior level? Would this mean that if I took 3 200 level courses in my fourth year, 1 300, and 1 400, that I would be ok for applying still?