Premed 101 Forums

Queen's MCAT cut-off.

Hello ppl, i was really disheartened after looking at the MCAT stat of past year applicants... mainly the seeming "R" cut-off for the Writing section. I have 11VR 12BS 13PS and a dreadful Q.... should've done some writing practice before i took it but i thot this part wasn't too important for med schools. I'm not actually bad at writing; I had A+(90%) and A (85%) in my two first-year English courses. It's just i'm not good at writing about some stupid random topic I don't care about in 30 minutes. Does anyone know how strict this cut-off is? Or, would they actually consider my 1st year English courses marks? I think I've seen like 1 person on this forum who got accepted on a Q. Has anyone heard of other cases? I mean I'd really love to go to Queen's for med school. I heard it's a really tight-knit community with a very good research/teaching culture.

Thanx in advance!

Hello ppl, i was really disheartened after looking at the MCAT stat of past year applicants... mainly the seeming "R" cut-off for the Writing section. I have 11VR 12BS 13PS and a dreadful Q.... should've done some writing practice before i took it but i thot this part wasn't too important for med schools. I'm not actually bad at writing; I had A+(90%) and A (85%) in my two first-year English courses. It's just i'm not good at writing about some stupid random topic I don't care about in 30 minutes. Does anyone know how strict this cut-off is? Or, would they actually consider my 1st year English courses marks? I think I've seen like 1 person on this forum who got accepted on a Q. Has anyone heard of other cases? I mean I'd really love to go to Queen's for med school. I heard it's a really tight-knit community with a very good research/teaching culture.

Thanx in advance!