Premed 101 Forums

A day in the life of....

I was discussing my plans to attend med school with my husband this evening (Im a premed) and after he asked me how demanding I thought med school would actually be and how much spare time I would find myself with, I was at a loss for words. I have no fricken idea. So my question is; how is one day in the life of a med student? Do you have any spare time? Im assuming that med school would obviously be quite demanding and would likely leave me with little or no time to myself but then again I dont know.

My answer to that would vary considerably depending on whether I'm at the beginning or end of a block lol. I'm in second year, and realistically, I'm in class ~6-8 hours a day, and then there's lots of studying to do on top of that. I like to do my work during the week and save as much free time for the weekends as possible; others in my class like to do nothing in the evenings during the week and then work really hard for one or both days of the weekend. Either way, your free time will be significantly reduced from what you're used to in undergrad.

All that said, I've managed to maintain a happy marriage, I still socialize, and for about 2/3 of each block I'm a relatively well-balanced person. Getting towards exams shakes up the balance in favor of workaholism, but that's only for like 4-6 weeks, three times a year.

Now, clerkship...well, that's a different story.

Pre-clerkship is pretty chill on average compared to undergrad from my experience. But this statement is relative and probably school dependent. However, there are bursts of time, weeks here and there that tend to dwarf undergrad in terms of busyness. Usually these are weeks leading up to examinations. The theory part of medicine covered in pre-clerkship is not that hard intellectually. I think most med students would agree that the challenging part of pre-clerkship is the volume and speed at which you are expected to digest material.