Premed 101 Forums

Summer Research

marz

I'm a first year student and I got a research position at st. mikes in neurology. My question is - how much do they really expect me to know? I'll really have no previous experience of neuroanatomy or neurophysiology.... I don't want to walk in there looking like a total fool ....

Any thoughts?

Nah, you aren't expected to have very specific interests. Being in first year, so far your exposure has been general and not specialized. That being said, you should have broader areas of interest and you may decide to pick a couple of these areas and explore them further when answering that question. When I worked in a virology lab after first year, I had no idea what was going on because I had zero molecular biology or microbiology lab experience, but they know that you are missing key knowledge and you get the support you need.

Having worked in several labs as an undergraduate and now graduate student, I can tell you that you aren't expected to be fully independent as a first year student. You will most likely be under direct supervision of a graduate student and you will likely not have to develop original ideas. You need to be able to follow instruction and know when to ask questions. Other than that, just enjoy the experience and soak it in.

I'm a first year student and I got a research position at st. mikes in neurology. My question is - how much do they really expect me to know? I'll really have no previous experience of neuroanatomy or neurophysiology.... I don't want to walk in there looking like a total fool ....

Any thoughts?

paid? (10 char)