Premed 101 Forums

For which med schools do ECs not matter as much?

Strategy99

I am a first year science student with very little ECs. I know for sure this will be the weak point of my application and it is worrying me a lot.

My question is: how important are ECs really? How important is the autobio sketch (where you list 48 items)? Do schools analyze each and every single activity or do they barely look at it at all?

As long as I have things to talk about in my interview, I should be fine, even without a decent amount of ECs, correct? The thing is, despite having very little ECs, I believe the very few I do have are very good, but again, very few. Which med schools are not as high on ECs, and which are?

Any insight into this is appreciated! Thanks :)

GPA is king. Generally speaking, med schools want well rounded, active citizens, not just brains. And physicians have certain characteristics, e.g., effective communicators, leaders, deonstrate initiative, problem solvers, compassionate, personable etc. Most if not all of these characteristics can only be demonstrated to adcom from your activities, and if you have no activities, you are not making yourself a competitive applicant.

So, you ask how important are ECs. Well, activities, be they ECs, volunteering, sports, whatever, theyallow you to grow as an individual. The issue is not really to what extent adcoms scrutinize the autobio sketch, rather the issue is that you want to be able to demonstrate to adcoms that you are an active citizen, that you participate in the community and these items factor in for the selection of whom is selected for interview. And at the interview stage, whether you discuss your experiences or not, your backgrounds plays into how effective you will be in marketing yourself to the interviewers.

I am a first year science student with very little ECs. I know for sure this will be the weak point of my application and it is worrying me a lot.