Premed 101 Forums

Psychiatry

SAcanada

Can anyone tell me what the general feeling regarding psych residencies and psych as a career is canada is?

Is there a lot of work for psychiatrists?

-A lot of work, and relatively relaxed residency

-The negative of course being it is the lowest paid of any medical specialty

I've seen jobs advertised for psychiatrists for 250-400k per year. Is that considered the lowest paid medical speciality?

I'm sure if IM and surgeons do as good hours(less) as psychiatrists, then their average income will be considerably less. Sometimes you have to choose between overtime and lifestyle. I've been a doctor now for 3 years and I can tell you, you often feel like letting a few thousand drop off from your income just to be able to sleep in your own bed.

I've seen jobs advertised for psychiatrists for 250-400k per year. Is that considered the lowest paid medical speciality?

I'm sure if IM and surgeons do as good hours(less) as psychiatrists, then their average income will be considerably less. Sometimes you have to choose between overtime and lifestyle. I've been a doctor now for 3 years and I can tell you, you often feel like letting a few thousand drop off from your income just to be able to sleep in your own bed.

Unfortunately, just because you have seen SOME psych jobs that pay a lot, the average does not represent that. The Canadian average is about 160k, and in Toronto, especially for new psychiatrists, it can be as low as 110k.

But I agree with you, the lifestyle in terms of hours is WAY better--but if you do enough research (I have done a lot on psych), my figures are accurate. Psychiatrists love their jobs, and there are many reasons for that--but these reasons are things like 'they find dealing with mental health fascinating'--its not that they get paid BADLY, but they are the lowest paid specialty.