Premed 101 Forums

This may be a dumb question (research)

legitpro

How come I need a professor or supervisors help to get published? Why can't I just write my own paper and try to get it submitted?

-couldn't I just get a couple thousand drosophila flies in a jar and do testing on it?

EDIT:

-thought about doing it in my parents bathroom.

-I am only in my 1st year of a science student so i am not an expert at this researching stuff

Guest copacetic

where are you gonna get these flies? do you have an animal use protocol? no journal will accept research done on animals unless you have ethics approval and an animal use protocol. has to be approved by IRB. Also where are you getting the funding? what lab space? do you have the facilities to raise drosophila? The world of research is highly regulated, you cant just do whatever you want

...-I am only in my 1st year of a science student so i am not an expert at this researching stuff

Therein lies the problem. At this stage, you wouldn't even know how to do research, what questions to ask, what areas need more research, what hypotheses to test or how to test them. You need to be an expert in the field to be able to think of meaningful things like that, or at least have more background than first year basic science. You are not considered an expert in a particular field until you have a PhD, so undergrads and grad students need a supervisor with a PhD to make sure they're doing things right.