Premed 101 Forums

Summer School at U of T

I'm not sure if I should do summer school at U of T if its med school does not include the mark into the GPA calculation. I was thinking of taking second year biochem (im in first year), since I heard its a challenging course that is harder to do well in during the year.

Just so you know, your academic score for U of T is not directly proportional to your GPA. A large part of it is how rigorous and cohesive your course load is. This is why many engineers/grad students with lower than average GPA get in and many people with >3.9 don't even get interview.

Don't make a habit of taking the easy way out by taking hard courses in the summer. They'll still see those courses on your transcript and this may actually decrease your academic score.

I'm not sure if I should do summer school at U of T if its med school does not include the mark into the GPA calculation. I was thinking of taking second year biochem (im in first year), since I heard its a challenging course that is harder to do well in during the year.

Not necessarily true. If you ever take summer courses, don't base things on perceived level of difficulty (or lack thereof)...do it to make your schedule during the year (gap time between lectures etc.) bearable. Imho, nothing worse than 2+ hour gaps between classes.

Finally, work your butt off in every course you take and try to take courses you're deeply interested in. This should result in a courseload that is sufficiently challenging, gets you a good learning experience as well as (hopefully) a 3.8+ GPA.

Just so you know, your academic score for U of T is not directly proportional to your GPA. A large part of it is how rigorous and cohesive your course load is. This is why many engineers/grad students with lower than average GPA get in and many people with >3.9 don't even get interview.