Premed 101 Forums

What Are My Options

Hello All,

Like everyone else here, my goal is to go to Medical school. Unfortunately, I'm not sure that I would get in if I applied. Here's a little background about my situation. I graduated in '09 from McMaster Biochemistry, but didn't really work/focus too hard. My first 2 years, my average was a low to mid 70%, then in 3rd and 4th year I was able to bring it up to a high 70%, low 80%. I did participate in some extracurriculars, but nothing outstanding or really relevant to medicine. I wrote the MCAT between 3rd and 4th year and scored a 31 (can't remember the exact breakdown, but if I recall correctly, everything was over a 10; may have gotten a 9 in verbal) and an O in the written sample. I didn't apply out of my undergrad because I needed some time to figure out what to do with my life. So I applied and got into graduate school, and have been in an M.Sc. program at McMaster for 1.5 years, working on potential treatments for psychiatric disorders. I've really beefed up my CV, with 2 publications (one is a 2nd author), at least one 1st author publication in the works, a provisional patent, several abstract publications and poster presentations, an award for best work by a graduate student at an annual departmental conference, and an A+ grade in each of the two graduate school courses I've taken, although I haven't been doing any extracurriculars worth putting on an application.