Premed 101 Forums

Applying to Med School as a Dental Student

Hi Everyone!

I was looking for some advice on applying to med school as quite the unusual candidate. I am currently a dentistry student and want to enter medicine instead. I got accepted into dental school after 2 years of undergrad, had a cumulative undergrad gpa of 3.97 and pre-req gpa of 3.97 as well. I don't have GPA for the years I spent in dentistry because my school follows pass/fail system. I'm wondering if anyone has gone through the same thing or knows of someone who has followed this route? I should also mention that from finishing the first two preclinical years of dentistry, I have an undergrad degree in medical sciences, which should allow me to apply for medical schools that require a degree. I'm also not sure if I should try taking the next school year off, or continue my studies in dentistry while applying for medicine..

Thanks for the advice!

Hmmm... From your medical sciences degree it kind of sounds like you're coming from uofa (correct me if I'm wrong). In that case I'm sure you're aware of ppl that apply for med usually after the 1st year of dent. They got to go to 2nd year med after they got in bc the med and dent program cross over for the first 2years.

Hmmm... From your medical sciences degree it kind of sounds like you're coming from uofa (correct me if I'm wrong). In that case I'm sure you're aware of ppl that apply for med usually after the 1st year of dent. They got to go to 2nd year med after they got in bc the med and dent program cross over for the first 2years.

I didn't know UBC have the same type of deal going on. I plan on writing my mcat in September which only leaves me 5 weeks to prepare so I'm not sure if it is worth rescheduling mcat to end of august to meet requirements for ubc med. Probably not..

I'm just curious: what made you wanna switch from dent to med?