Premed 101 Forums

Why is research so important?

whiteteeth

While I was working at a hospital as nursing student (I'm in my final year now), I was talking with a volunteer...

and we both realized that we were pre-med.

He asked me if I did any research? I said no. I didn't do any lab work.

He was like "Oh..." in a disappointing way and said "Well, I think research is also important (aside from GPA) if you want to get into medical school"

I replied, "That's too bad for me then."

I do have clinical experiences where I do physical assessments on the patients, interact with them and their family, educate the patients, help to keep them alive, administer medications, treatment, do collaborative work with the health care team to provide the best care for the patient (providing timely updates to each professionals providing care for my patient).

I had really good experiences in my clinical placements and internship (TGH, Sick Kids, so on)

My GPA is okay-bare minimum (It's in the 3.8s. I hope to raise it in my final year).

Do research >>>> my clinical experiences?

I don't ever plan on doing lab research (plus, I'm not in a typical life science program, and thus, I'm not qualified enough to get a job as a lab researcher). It's just not interesting for me.

What interests me is providing clinical care and treatment for the patients.

I don't think research > your clinical experiences. However, all other things being equal, someone who has research AND clinical experiences will have an edge. Remember that there's much more out there than lab research. Clinical care and treatment is based on research as well. There are lots of potential projects around health education, medication administration, communication, etc., including quality and patient safety research.

UofT MD Admissions FAQ

4) How much volunteer and research experience do I need?