Premed 101 Forums

Next Steps towards getting in

Guest professional student

Guest professional student

Hey guys!

I need some advise. I completed an Hon. B.Sc at U of T and just recently got my Masters in Health Administration conferred. I did not get into med school this year. Part of it may be my MCAT's which I intend on rewriting, and part of it may be my marks. I have had some great experiences working in health admin and have other good extracurriculars-enough to get me an interview at Mac. Now that I did not get in, I am wondering whether I should start a new undergraduate degree (i.e. 1st year courses). How will this be regarded by the various medical schools. I know Mac said they look at all of your courses (so these should be included), Western takes your last and your best etc. For Western, does anyone know if this first year of a new degree would count as my last year?? If so, they could take my 4th year from my first undergrad degree and this year and it would be beneficial (assuming that i wreck shop!). Anyway, I don;t know what to do in September and am just looking for a little guidance. Thanks to any who reply!

Guest applicant too

I don't really have the answer for you as I think all med schools will consider your situation differently. I am also looking at starting a second degree this fall but I am mostly only interested in Mac for now so I know these courses will be counted equally. I think I read somewhere that Western will allow a "catch up" (or something along those lines) year but it is counted differently. You will need to check with the individual med schools that you are interested in to get the trusted answers.

Good luck on your plan B!

Guest shkelo