Premed 101 Forums

First year student from JAMAICA! NEED ADVICE!

Jawney

Hello community, I hope you are all doing fine.

Background:-

I am a first year student on the UofT SG campus, coming from Jamaica, but I have Canadian Citizenship. I got accepted to the University of the West Indies med school (they use the British system, so you can go into med after high school). I opted to come here, planning to go to UofT's med school since it's presumably top-notch and pretty convenient for me. I have a place by Bay and College, so I'm within walking distance to most hospitals.

I received transfer credits for 1st year life-sci courses, so I'm doing 1st, 2nd and 3rd year courses. For example, PSL300+PSL301, BCH210 + BCH311, BIO220, etc. I'm doing very well in terms of grades so far, and I have previous volunteer experience in hospitals in Jamaica, but I am a total noob when it comes to downtown Toronto.. I don't know anybody!

Problems:-

I looked at the IMS SURP website and I emailed 10 researchers (only fields of research that looked interesting) giving them my resume and such... but alas either their labs are full, or they're just not responding to me now (it's been 2 weeks since I sent out the e-mails).

There seems to be no volunteering positions at Sick Kids, at least none on the website.

There is a meeting to volunteer at Toronto General on Feb 2nd... but it requires me to get references and resumes and whatnot. My problem is that idk how long it would take to get them since all my contacts are in Jamaica and are presumably very busy.

My questions are:

What should I do for Summer?

Should I study for the MCAT?

Can anyone tell me any easy-going volunteer positions?

What should a newbie to Downtown Toronto do NOW?

(I friggin hate the cold)

I'm in need of some advice! Please and thank you.