Premed 101 Forums

School!!!!

Guest bossman1818

Guest bossman1818

I am just a high school student who has recently graduated, and I will be starting pre-med next year! I have a question, though, that has been bothering me lately. You see, I am a high academic student (90's), and yet I opted to go to a community college for the first two years of my degree, and then transfer into a university to finish off. The specifics: I will be attending Grant MacEwan Community College in Edmonton Alberta for the first two years, and then the U of A for the last two. My reasoning is that I will finish all the required pre-med courses in the first year in a smaller school, thus, a better chance at getting a better mark. Also, I will be writing the MCAT after these first two years. Then I will transfer into the U of A, finish the degree, and then hold my breath and wait. My question is this, I have heard recently that there is bias within the Medical School community, particularly with the U of A, with regards to the institution were you have studied. Knowing how competitive it is to get into medical school, I would hate to not be accepted based on were I took the first two years of my degree. So, is it true that this bias exists? Please, I already know what the medical schools themselves will say, but I am looking for those that have applied to medical schools, perhaps in particular U of A, and have noticed or have heard of this bias. Any information that anyone could give would be most appreciated. By the way, congrats to all those accepted this year, I hope to join you soon!!!

Guest MEDCOMPSCI

Can I ask you a simple question....why are you making this all so hard on yourself? Just goto UofA and do your 3-4 years there before going into Meds.

If you are afarid that you cannot 'cut it' with the other pre-meds, is it not better to find out during pre-med rather than on the operating table? If you work hard, are smart and nice enough to warrant being a doctor, you will be one!