Premed 101 Forums

Can it be done

Guest Jordan

Guest Jordan

Hi, I am a biochemistry undergraduate student going into my fourth yera of study at the University of Sask. Pending the MCAT I am likely to get into the medical school here. What I am wondering is if I can go anywhere else such as Alberta or Toronto.

My grades are :1st-78 2nd-87 3rd-85

I went to the OMAA site and calculated my three year GPA and it was in the 3.64/4 area and from what i have read there is no chance with that. I do have volunteer and research experience, but i am just wondering if it is even possible to go anywhere else with these grades.

Thanks

Jordan

Guest MEDCOMPSCI

Well your last couple of years seem soild. I guess it depends on some issues though:

1) Have you always maintained a full course load? (ie - 5 courses). If so, then UofT will apply a weighting formula to your GPA that will help boost you a little.

A 3.64 isn't THAT bad a gpa; it's goo enough for Queens/Western. However, I tend to get the vibe from you that since you can get into Sask. you really only want to leave if its to a big name school (ie - Toronto/Alberta).

I can't speak on Alberta, but for UofT undergrads usually need a 3.80 GPA to be competative for an interview. It is unlikely that a weighting formula would help that much, so you may need to do some grad work before getting in there.

I would recommened applying to Queens/Western; provided you do well on the MCAT exam, you will have two interviews gurananteed from these schools. Even if you reject them for your home UofSask, at least you have a backup should that fall through.

Guest RAK2005