Premed 101 Forums

Would love some advice!

Hey Everyone,

I would love to hear some of your opinions/suggestions on my situation.

Undergrad GPA: 3.0, completed 2009

Graduate GPA: 3.9 (only 1.5 courses), completed 2011, still working in the lab to finish a total of 2 publications (1 textbook chapter and 1 primary research article)

MCAT from 2007: 31Q, 9V, 12B, 10P

Extracurriculars: pretty good, I think, hospital/medical-related volunteering, teaching, outdoors activities, etc

I really think my undergrad GPA is bringing me down, even though I did a graduate degree.

I am planning to do my MCAT again this year, since it is too old to use to apply to many schools. But, with my GPA, do I realistically have a chance of getting into Canadian schools? American? Ireland? Caribbean?

Any comments/suggestions would be helpful!

Hey Everyone,

I would love to hear some of your opinions/suggestions on my situation.

Undergrad GPA: 3.0, completed 2009

Graduate GPA: 3.9 (only 1.5 courses), completed 2011, still working in the lab to finish a total of 2 publications (1 textbook chapter and 1 primary research article)

MCAT from 2007: 31Q, 9V, 12B, 10P

Extracurriculars: pretty good, I think, hospital/medical-related volunteering, teaching, outdoors activities, etc

I really think my undergrad GPA is bringing me down, even though I did a graduate degree.

I am planning to do my MCAT again this year, since it is too old to use to apply to many schools. But, with my GPA, do I realistically have a chance of getting into Canadian schools? American? Ireland? Caribbean?

Any comments/suggestions would be helpful!

Hi there! We need that GPA broken down by year with the number of credits down per year to really evaluate things for all the schools out there - particularly the ones that are more likely to be your targets

Anyone have any thoughts on my situation? Would love some ideas!