Premed 101 Forums

Listing References on Application

Hey guys,

So I will be applying next year, and I just have a quick question in regards to listing references for some of my extracurricular activities.

Since I was about 15, I have been working for my families company on and off (off usually in the summers). Since that time, I have been committing around 25 - 27 hours. Now that I am in university, I do around 10 hours a week of volunteering on top of work.

The problem I have is that I don't know how to list my reference for some of my activities, especially my employment. The only person who can really verify that I have been working 25 - 27 hours a week for 7 years is my father. It is to my understanding, however, that family cannot be used a reference.

I also do a lot of tutoring of various subjects – especially classes that are offered in the winter semester after I have completed them in the fall semester. The only person who can verify that is the individual that I tutored.

Same thing with sports. A live near a gym and every week they hold intramural soccer games of which I attend. Who do I get a reference from?

I have a few more, but you guys get the idea. Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you,

Lunasly.

Hey guys,

So I will be applying next year, and I just have a quick question in regards to listing references for some of my extracurricular activities.

Since I was about 15, I have been working for my families company on and off (off usually in the summers). Since that time, I have been committing around 25 - 27 hours. Now that I am in university, I do around 10 hours a week of volunteering on top of work.

The problem I have is that I don't know how to list my reference for some of my activities, especially my employment. The only person who can really verify that I have been working 25 - 27 hours a week for 7 years is my father. It is to my understanding, however, that family cannot be used a reference.