Premed 101 Forums

Overwhelmed

Hi everyone,

I'm currently in first year medical school, and I'm feeling completely overwhelmed with the amount of information I've already learned and the amount that I will need to learn. I was sitting in a class today that was discussing topics from earlier in the year, and I found that I had forgotten most of the details about all these conditions.

Any suggestions on how I can handle this?

Someone told me that you learn medicine 3 times: the first time during the preclinical years, than you repeat it all during clerkship and you repeat it again during residency. After those 3 times, there's a chance that you'll actually remember things well enough to be able to treat a patient effectively.

The other thing that I tell myself when I'm feeling overwhelmed, is to be A "Good enough" medical student. You don't have to know everything in great detail, you just have to be "good enough".

Oh, almost everyone experiences that feeling of being overwhelmed in medicine.

I get really scared too at times. I think I get ahead of myself and get scared because I am worried I won't be a good doctor. At those times I tell myself that all I have to do right now is be a good first year medical student. That's it. I can do that and I bet you can too.

The upper years say that it's okay - it will all come back and we will relearn what we need. I try to believe that.

In clerkship, read around the patients you encounter - the context will help the material stick that much better when you have a real-life person to apply it to, versus the lecture setting.

Having studied the material previously will make it easier to fill in the gaps of forgotten material once in clerkship, as you will have built a framework of concepts and terminology that will allow you to recognize, say, the name of a disease and know where to look it up, versus never having heard it before and not even knowing how to spell it in order to look it up.