Premed 101 Forums

Pediatrics Salary

uofamed

Hello,

I am currently in my third year of medical school and I'm one of those people who kinda like everything...I'm leaning towards pediatrics but I have heard from lots of people that pediatricians as a group make less or just as much as family doctors and that it would be better to be a family doc who just sees lots of kids...is this true? Is there any financial advantage to completing a peds residency?

Peds is very low on the remuneration scale, the only thing potentially lower is psychiatry. Unfortunately peds also suffers from low job availability. With current funding models you would probably make more as a family doctor investing the same hours than you would as a pediatrician. That said, my personal opinions are that current funding models in family medicine are unsustainable and we will likely see a big drop in family physician remuneration in the upcoming years. Really... why should a family doctor be paid as much or more than a pediatrician when they have less training? The shortage of family doctors is quickly shrinking so their supply/demand ratio will be increasing.

Your practise as a family doctor "seeing a lot of kids" vs a pediatrician is going to be very different. Personally I feel that choosing your patient population as a family doctor is much more difficult than you would think. I also believe that it is strongly discouraged as you are supposed to be open to anyone (keeping in mind the # of patients you can reasonably handle) so you are going to end up with a lot of elderly patients as by-and-large that is who requires medical care. Also, your patients are going to grow older, you can't just dump them once they hit 18. Also, as a pediatrician you are going to see much sicker kids as your role is to handle the ones that the referring family doctors required support for.