Premed 101 Forums

Anyone hear back from Summer Research program at sickkids or mount sinai?

Anikauoft

• 11 months later...

hey

just wondering what kinda question they ask in the sickkids interview?

and when exactly you heard back from them?

still waiting on a reply i applied to about 10 PIs

really hoping i get one

do you guys know of any other clinical research spots in toronto that are available for students?

I'm a volunteer research student at St. Mike's. I have other commitments every summer, so I wanted a year-round position. I emailed around a hundred PIs in Toronto until one of them said yes.

The more people you get to know in the science and research field, the easier it is to find other opportunities.

hey

just wondering what kinda question they ask in the sickkids interview?

and when exactly you heard back from them?

still waiting on a reply i applied to about 10 PIs

really hoping i get one

do you guys know of any other clinical research spots in toronto that are available for students?

Mt Sinai, Sickkids, St mikes, UHN (toronto west, toronto general, princess marg), rouge valley, baycrest, banting and best, UofT IMS, holland and bloorview, women's hospital, sunnybrook.

All of the above have well established, paid summer research programs for undergrads. Many of which are clinical. Good luck guys :)

Just like to add that applications for these positions are very competitive (like med sch admissions). Most PIs are spoiled for choices (they received so many applications but can only accept one), and they usually prefer someone who already have the basic skills they desire. That's why prior research experience is very important. Whether it's volunteer or paid or part of a course, try to get some prior research experience. It will improve your chances in future if you are not successful this time round. Good luck! :)

• 3 weeks later...