Premed 101 Forums

CaRMS anxiety

Hello my fellow PM101 friends,

congrats to all of those who have surpassed the carms hurdle and have matched on mar 5th!

i'm currently in my third year( half the year has gone by so fast!) and i'm really starting to think about all my electives and my career options. i have to admit though, that this whole carms process is giving me way too much anxiety.

i swear things are just busier and busier. it feels like i have a full time job: that of attending clinics and call, rotation exams, and then i have to go home to an empty house, cook, clean, sleep. Exercise has become sporadic, and studying at the end of the day is a dream! So now i'm gripped with serious anxiety - how the heck am i going to survive year 3, and prepare myself for carms and the interview madness?

i prepared for my interviews well in advance for medical school, and in undergrad i had the luxury of time to devote to practice (i'm the type of person who is not confident until i've practiced giving mock interviews).

so my question to my seniors is: how did you do it? is there time at the end of the day to write your applications during electives, to prepare for interviews, is it a happier time where you can have some me-time to reflect on your skills and strengths and abilities?

what is the best way to prepare for interviews?

am i the only one who is feeling this much anxiety? :( how do you deal with the small voice in the back of your head that says, "what if you don't match?"

appreciate any words of wisdom!

First of all, its pretty common at this point in third year to feel overwhelmed and stressed about carms. Watching the year above you give talks about surviving the match process feels surreal and I remember being in your shoes and thinking there was no way it was going to work out.