Premed 101 Forums

Self Studying for the MCAT

decentcigars

hey guys, I am going to be writing my MCAT this coming august. I'm in my second year right now, so I figured this summer would be the best time. I've never been someone who goes to prep courses and stuff like that - I always found it best to study on my own. The courses offered as everyone knows are pertty damn expensive as well. Does anyone have any tips for self-studying? Should I even do it? I glanced at the topics on the MCAT and is not anything I haven't seen before. Granted, the last thing I want to do is be unprepared for it. Thanks!

You can definitely study on your own, just get a good practice book with lots of practice exams and you'll be fine. My only advice though is that writing it after 2nd year is a bit early. That's what I did, because a lot of the material is fresh, but it means that if you don't get into med school pretty quickly you run the risk of it expiring! If I don't get in this year, I only have one more year left to apply to UBC before I have to rewrite, and some schools like Manitoba count the years differently and already require me to rewrite if I want to apply next year (luckily I don't).

I took 5 years to graduate cus I did co-op, and I graduated last spring. If you grad in 4 years and have better grades than me then you will probably be fine!

hey guys, I am going to be writing my MCAT this coming august. I'm in my second year right now, so I figured this summer would be the best time. I've never been someone who goes to prep courses and stuff like that - I always found it best to study on my own. The courses offered as everyone knows are pertty damn expensive as well. Does anyone have any tips for self-studying? Should I even do it? I glanced at the topics on the MCAT and is not anything I haven't seen before. Granted, the last thing I want to do is be unprepared for it. Thanks!