Premed 101 Forums

Note taking/Study Strategies in Med School

Hi there,

I'm starting to get organized for med classes to start in August at UBC and am trying to figure out a study strategy. In undergrad I took notes on print outs of slides and then put those notes onto electronic flash cards which I studied the heck out of. I'm thinking this possibly isn't the best way to study in med school and am curious to hear about people's strategies. Thanks in advance!

It took me a few semesters to get into a routine that worked for me - but I would go to lectures with the slides (as a PDF on my iPad), then I would annotate the slides with anything the lecturer said that wasn't written on the slides. Then I would go home and hand write a new set of notes combining the information so that I had a single set of master notes with all the information. If there was an independent learning or something else, I would make notes for that too.

Then I studied by reading the notes aloud to myself, making up sample questions that I thought might be asked, and re-writing or drawing pieces that were especially hard to remember.

Some people would probably find that to be overkill and prefer to only focus on high yield information, but I like to have all the material together. That's just my style.

I typed - I have one of those attachable keyboards, which I really like. The app that I use is iAnnotate PDF but I know other people use others.

Textbooks I have to say I didn't use much - if there was an assigned reading I would skim it and if there was something huge in there that I felt was missing, I might make a couple extra notes, but for the most part I focused on the class material.

I don't know if other schools test more heavily from the textbooks than Western does though.