Premed 101 Forums

carms cv

Hi guys,

so for those of you who have gone through this before... i find the cv building to be very cumbersome!

how important is this CV in comparison to the personal letter? or are they both equally important :P hehe

my question pertaining to this cv bizness is: after each elective i've entered, it asks for a 'description'. is this where i write what my duties were at each elective rotation? like, worked up common internal med complaints on int med ? (i mean, it just sounds so artificial and frankly overkill)

also, i'm a u of t student and we have a system called 'selectives' which are basically electives, but they happen AFTER carms .. can i add the selectives to the electives information area?

many thanks for your help! :)

The CV is a big deal. The personal statements are all short and pretty much sound the same. The transcripts are useless. The reference letters all say you are great unless you really sucked. The CV allows for more differentiation between applicants than any other part of the package.

Make sure your CV is professional in format and easy to read. Even if you have a great CV if it looks like crap then you will look pretty much the same.

I agree, there is some redundancy in the descriptions of electives. I would make sure you keep it brief and one sentence. Just give a one liner on what you did and maybe what type of hospital or patient population you worked with.

As a former UofT med student who was part of the first cohort to do selectives I know the issue of selectives on CaRMS came up several times. During our year the faculty clarified that selectives were ok on the CV as long as you indicated the clnical experience was a selective. This would be something to place in the description part mentioned above. I certainly included my own selectives on my application when I was doing CaRMS.