Premed 101 Forums

Research after you graduate?

farmin

I am to graduate this year and I don't want to do a masters. I want to work in a lab (I mostly just want a publication). How do I set this up? As a summer student, I just emailed people and get grants. But after I graduate, I don't get grants anymore... so what do I do? Are there still grants for people doing research in general? Do I just email profs if they need people to help out? But I don't just want to help out I actually want a publication. Kinda stuck here.

You need to get some realistic expectations here. You cannot skip out on a masters, get a random grant and just "get a publication," especially with just a bachelors degree. Basically your only non-masters option would be to apply for a RA position. They are job postings and you do not email random profs about this. You will be competing against those with Masters degrees. You will also be unlikely to publish in this type of position (guaranteed not first author at least). If you really want money and a good shot at publishing, masters is your only option. But I must ask, why do you even want a publication? Doesn't do much for MD applications and it seems like you're not that into research.

I have to agree with Osteon. Folks don't really 'do research in general', usually research is done as a prof, grad student, post-doc, research associate etc. But these positions typically require more than a bachelor's degree. With a BSc your main option is to work as a lab tech. While you may get an acknowledgement on a publication, the odds of you getting a first author publication are very low. Working as a tech usually means that while you may prepare and run analyses, in most cases you have not made an intellectual contribution to designing and interpreting the experiment. All of which are normally required to warrant inclusion as an author on a publication.