Premed 101 Forums

MD in French med school and practice in English provinces upon graduation?

Ellennn

I am a Quebec resident and studied in the french system up until secondaire 2, when my family moved to Toronto. I finished up high school in Ontario, and came back to Quebec (McGill) for university. I'm currently in my first year.

I'm looking into applying to the "annee preparatoire" of UdeM (I think the other two French med schools have similar programs too?), after I complete the pre-requisite courses at McGill. But I wonder if going to a French med school will hinder my professional career as a doctor. Will I have to practice in Quebec? Or will I be free to practice anywhere? What about residency?

I was thinking that the ideal med school would be McGill for me, because honestly my French has became rusty... And McGill will still allow me to pay the Quebec tuition. But the three French med schools just seem to be SO MUCH LESS competitive!

So what are the disadvantages of going to a French med school, if I may want to end up practicing in Ontario (where my family is)?

I am a Quebec resident and studied in the french system up until secondaire 2, when my family moved to Toronto. I finished up high school in Ontario, and came back to Quebec (McGill) for university. I'm currently in my first year.

I'm looking into applying to the "annee preparatoire" of UdeM (I think the other two French med schools have similar programs too?), after I complete the pre-requisite courses at McGill. But I wonder if going to a French med school will hinder my professional career as a doctor. Will I have to practice in Quebec? Or will I be free to practice anywhere? What about residency?

I was thinking that the ideal med school would be McGill for me, because honestly my French has became rusty... And McGill will still allow me to pay the Quebec tuition. But the three French med schools just seem to be SO MUCH LESS competitive!