Premed 101 Forums

Do I Have Any Chance Of Getting Into A Pt Program In Canada?

Hello

I was just wondering if I have a remote chance to get into a physiotherapy program in Canada given my low GPA and if I should bother applying for the 2015 intake. I jumped around in school a lot and it wasn't untill my last two years or year an a half that i decided I was interested in Physiotherapy, therefore my grades suffered. I graduated with a undergrad in Business from a university that uses a 4.33 grading scale and I'm a resident of British Columbia.

cGPA is 2.83

Last 30 credits  around 3.5  ( with the prereqs 3.36 )

Last 60 3.0

I have the prereqs for most of the schools in Canada except Manitoba, as far as i know and volunteer experience.

I also was wondering if anyone had some input into my options and if they would be worth it, such as:

-Retaking some of the business classes i did poorly in to bump up my cGPA, which of course were the classes that I hated with the passion.

-Or any ideas for international schools which are recognized in Canada. preferable ones that wont put me into unimaginable debt, which seems like most of them.

Thank you

My mistake! I definetly read what you wrote wrong-yes you are correct 60 credits would be 20 courses (I generally do not think in credits, so when I saw 60 I wasn't paying attention sorry!). 

From what I have found-3.0 will not be competitive based on last cycles cutoffs (especially for interviews). Queen's can be a bit of an odd ball-so although you meet their cut off, it you are not course heavy in anat/physiology, they may look down on the lower GPA. 

A recommendation I have heard is to aim for a 3.8+ (based on the interview cutoffs last cycle and projecting forward), I think your best bet would be to look at your courses and either 

a) as you said, retake courses if you did especially bad on a few that are pulling down your gpa or