Premed 101 Forums

Future Ds Applicant Considering Quitting My Master's - Thoughts Please?

Hi everyone,

I'm currently in my second semester of grad school, doing a 2-year research-based Master's in health/medical sciences (won't specify for the sake of keeping my anonymity). However, I am finding myself incredibly unsatisfied with this program and with my project, and I have been feeling this way since October. Perhaps that should've been a red flag to withdraw before it's too late, but fear of not knowing what to do otherwise and hearing that the first semester is always the hardest made me decide to stick with the program. 

After completing undergrad, I took a year off from school, took the DAT and applied to dental school (UofT, UWO and McGill). My DAT scores were actually quite decent for a first-time applicant (21AA, 22RC and 25PAT) and my GPA is 88.7% all four years and 90% best two years. However, I only got an interview invite from UWO and got waitlisted there, only to be unsuccessful. I decided that I didn't want to waste another year working in meaningless jobs, I wanted to move away from home and do something that would improve my chances of getting into dental school the next time I applied. Hence the research-based Master's. 

To be honest though, I dug my own hole because I never liked research. I did a fourth-year research project in undergrad and absolutely hated it. I love doing course work and just learning rather than working in a lab. In hindsight, I should have done a course-based Master's rather than a research-based one, but my pride and fear led me to pursuing the latter. Now I'm at a point where it would technically be too late for me to withdraw without suffering some sort of penalty - it would be indicated on my transcript that I withdrew, which could look bad when I apply for DS in the future.