Premed 101 Forums

Pushing the GPA

Guest EMHC

Hi everyone,

I've read dogeatdog's "apply should I even bother" post and have attained a lot of insight from all your opinions.

I'm in the same shoes as dogeatdog: I can't push my GPA higher than 3.5 (I know, it's low, and I'm thinking of medical school:| ). I'm in first year right now and I've talked to many individuals in their junior/senior years and they say that med school looks at your cumulative average and see if there's any "growth" in your GPA.

For those out there who are either in med school or applying to med school, I suppose you must have had stellar grades going in or even had really excellent grades throughout your undergrad years. How were you able to do it?

I graduate from high school with a 90 average and yes, my marks have dropped a lot from then.

I haven't been slacking off and actually I'm working even harder than before but my marks aren't reflecting my efforts. >:

What do I need to work on to push those grades up? I know I have the intellectual ability to attain those grades but is there something I'm doing wrong that's making this barrier with my marks?

I'd appreciate it if anyone could lead me in the right direction.

Guest peachy

Hmn. This is pretty much the same question as the other thread - I'm not going to repeat what I said there, here.

If that's not enough to push you in the right direction, then you should be looking for offline resources. Whatever school you're at must have some kind of academic advising - find out what resources your school has, and use them!

Guest SarahL

Hi,