Premed 101 Forums

Going Into My 2Nd Year..how'd You Get Through It?

Hey guys! 

I'm a student who just finished their first year at UBC. Many people say after the first year in sciences many students give up on the whole "I want to be a doctor" dreams but I havent. I struggled with the transition, but kept motivating myself to do better and ended up with a decent avg (~80). I got better marks second semester.

My question is for all those people who get 85+ averages consistently:how do you do it?

I've been able to improve my studying habits and sacrificed a lot of time to study instead, but I feel like I'm not working at max efficiency. People say it gets easier after 1st year, but does it really? 

Let alone declaring my major (probably doing bio, I enjoyed it!), I have no idea what arts electives I'd like to take. How'd you all go about selecting electives 2nd year? I don't really have anyone older to talk to so I only have this forum to ask.

Any advice is appreciated :)

-TGA

Hi TGA!

You seem very motivated and passionate about your goal, that is in my opinion very significant on it's own. The journey may seem long and hard at times, but your motivation and passion will be there to give you that push and hope when you need it. As mentioned, as you go through your years you realize the study methods that work best for you; I don't think there is a golden method of studying. I would say don't get caught up on finding the most efficient ("perfect") way of studying, it may get you overwhelmed and exhausted, rather try experimenting what works best for you and you may even find yourself having fun in the experimenting process and learning more about yourself (easier said than done sometimes).

Hope this helps a bit.

Wish you all the best!