Premed 101 Forums

Attending Nosm With An Arts Degree

Hi all,

I am looking to get in touch with someone who currently attends NOSM and who entered with an arts background as opposed to the hard sciences. I have a degree in Indigenous Studies with a few electives in biology and and am thinking of applying for the 2016 intake. I have a few questions.

1. With having a very unique admissions criteria with no prerequisites, how does NOSM bring students with a non-science background up to speed with the rest of the group? 

2. Was attending NOSM with minimal science education a major shock? Was it manageable? At what point did you feel confident in your abilities?

3. Did you do anything to prepare? (i.e summer courses prior to starting in the fall.)

4. How are arts students perceived at NOSM? Do they mesh well with the NOSM community?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions or insights!  :D

• 2 weeks later...

I dont know how unique it is to apply with an Arts degree, these days people apply with various disciplines since there are no prerequisites/required degrees. schools are moving away from required courses and more so towards academically well rounded students. having a couple of elective from different subject areas shows that you can tackle anything that comes your way which is important for the challenging road a head (which you have done because you have some bio). 

I wouldnt take any courses in the summer (i dont know how admissions will like that). many take the summer before to relax, work, do research or do what ever....

Medical school is designed to give you all the tools you need, so I wouldnt worry about it.

not sure about the NOSM community, good luck! 

• 5 months later...

Hi all,