Premed 101 Forums

Hi, I just registered. Have one question about Research.

Guest spaceboy1

Guest spaceboy1

Hi,

I have been reading this forum for about an hour and I am very impress! There is so much useful and fun things here about medicine (etc.) So I decided to registered!

Anyway, I thought I would just say "hi". :D And I have one question about Research Experience. Does it play a major factor into getting into Med School?

The reason I ask is because I have NO research experience! Most med school application (I think) ex. OMSAS, ask for research experience. So does it look bad if you have no research experience? Thanks for your answers in advance.

Peace.

Guest Tanya24

Hello spaceboy,

There is no one major factor in having a good application! While it certainly may be to your advantage to have research experience, it is definitely not necessary. You may want to check out the websites of the Ontario schools. Western, for example, does not know anything about your personal life until you enter the interview! I know plenty of applicants with years of research who did not even get interviews in Ontario schools. On the other hand, many of my classmates at Ottawa have little to no research experience (myself included!) and we were accepted.

Think of it this way: there is nothing you can do at this point regarding research (the OMSAS deadline is a month away!!). So just focus on the rest of your application. It does not look "bad" that research is missing. If you have some well-rounded, quality experiences for the other categories, then you probably have the fixings for a good application. Can't hurt.

By the way, if you completed an undergraduate thesis, this DOES count under the research category! Good luck.

Guest Kirsteen

Hi there,

Research is a thing that, although not necessarily required for a medical school application, it cannot hurt. This may be especially true for schools where research is an integral part of their medical school values.

Cheers,