Premed 101 Forums

Getting Ip Status

Hi Guys!

Now that I have graduated university and did not receive any interviews, I was considering moving to BC to get the IP status. From my last application, I didn't get an interview as an OOP, but my total score did exceed the IP threshold. 

As an Ontario with a lower MCAT verbal reasoning, I don't really see myself getting into any school here so I'm now considering moving to BC for the next cycle.

I was wondering if you think MD Adcom looks at this as simply 'gaming the system' when it comes to post-interview file reviews? Or if they simply brush over it over and just check that you have a valid BC Care Card or not?

Since all my NAQ activities are in Ontario (there all my life), I could see them questioning how I am a BC resident. 

Has anyone had experience with this or could provide some words of advice? (I can see this post being inflammatory to some people, and I do apologize. I wouldn't be taking such drastic measures if I could break the 10 VR/CARS barrier).

And I understand that it may be a bit late for this cycle, but for next cycle I would be planning this.

I wouldn't worry about how the adcoms will judge this post interview... I really don't think they would care as long as you have your BC services card. I'm sure that a lot of people do this. If UBC had issues with people moving to BC to gain IP status, then I think they'd make their IP requirements more stringent.

I don't have any experience with this, but I don't think you need to be worried.

Hi Guys!

Now that I have graduated university and did not receive any interviews, I was considering moving to BC to get the IP status. From my last application, I didn't get an interview as an OOP, but my total score did exceed the IP threshold. 

As an Ontario with a lower MCAT verbal reasoning, I don't really see myself getting into any school here so I'm now considering moving to BC for the next cycle.