Premed 101 Forums

Rn To Md

trinhk2

I've done much research specifically upon "RN to MD" and I guess everyone's case is different and situational like the one I am about to share with you. I am new to this online forum, so please bare with me if I am not specific enough or if I should be directed elsewhere.

I am an RN of 3 years now. I currently work on a "Clinical Teaching Unit" (Medical students undergoing clerkship and perhaps residents would be familiar with the functionality of this unit). Anyway, I would like to first and foremost say that Nursing is a wonderful career and I have learned and still am learning something new in the medical world and it has been nothing but a positive experience thus far. I went into nursing school with the intent of wanting to be a nurse and work toward a future of endless career opportunities within this field (i.e. ER, ICU, ect...). It wasn't until working on CTU that I started to be more observant of medical students and I often found myself becoming more engaged with the students and teaching physician - I've got to known most of the attending physicians and have a a lot more respect for what they do, as this unit is very busy and stressful. If there is anything that is very apparent, it's the way nurses and doctors perceive a situation. In rounds, it's easy for me to make a suggestion about what I want for a patient with regards to their symptoms, but MD's take the extra step with their critical thinking and may or may not implement a recommendation and that is what I admire - the meticulous details and analyzing of options to make a decision.