Premed 101 Forums

Western Dentistry Clinical Aspects

I've heard so many great things about Western dentistry clinical practice. If I do end up pursuing dentistry, I really want to get as much experience as possible in the clinics while I'm a student. I always have this fear of being unskilled when I actually become a dentist.

Can a current Western student share some experience? Do you like the clinics at western etc etc?

Well we just started shadowing upper years in the clinics... and we're barely halfway through our first year. Uppers years appear to be quite confident while they work; more so than I expected...

During 4th year you spend 100% of your time in the clinic; while you start seeing your own comprehensive-care patients in 3rd year. First and 2nd year you observe/assist uppers years and practice in the sim-clinic.... and on each other. :D

Well we just started shadowing upper years in the clinics... and we're barely halfway through our first year. Uppers years appear to be quite confident while they work; more so than I expected...

During 4th year you spend 100% of your time in the clinic; while you start seeing your own comprehensive-care patients in 3rd year. First and 2nd year you observe/assist uppers years and practice in the sim-clinic.... and on each other. :D

That sounds so cool! Are upper years constantly monitored by a professor or are they mostly on their own?

There are instructors assigned to a specific clinical area of about 6 cubicles each or so; they are required to sign-off on certain things. I think by that time you should feel pretty independent though... in under a year they're out on their own

We're only supposed to observe in our first year, but most of us have found that we're basically taking the role of the dental assistant, just to get accustomed to the clinic environment. Yesterday. we were up in the clinic placing topical and rubber dams on each other.