Premed 101 Forums

Chance For Do? Md Long Shot?

I completed my BSc. with a 3.4 GPA (2.8, 3.2, 3.6, 3.85), and have a 4.0 in my Master's (took 12.0 graduate credits, and 18 undergrad credits). I took a ton of courses on top of my research Master's to try and up my overall GPA. My overall GPA with Master's is 3.5. MCAT is 32 on old (2014) and 506 on new.

I'll be applying with 4 publications, research experience in both my field (integrative biology) and pathology (volunteer), TA, tutor, volunteer with 5 organizations on campus, and 1000's of clinical and shadowing hours in a surgical clinic, plus a few shadowing sessions with a DO.

Do I have much of a chance anywhere? Would really appreciate your advice.

I completed my BSc. with a 3.4 GPA (2.8, 3.2, 3.6, 3.85), and have a 4.0 in my Master's (took 12.0 graduate credits, and 18 undergrad credits). I took a ton of courses on top of my research Master's to try and up my overall GPA. My overall GPA with Master's is 3.5. MCAT is 32 on old (2014) and 506 on new.

I'll be applying with 4 publications, research experience in both my field (integrative biology) and pathology (volunteer), TA, tutor, volunteer with 5 organizations on campus, and 1000's of clinical and shadowing hours in a surgical clinic, plus a few shadowing sessions with a DO.

Do I have much of a chance anywhere? Would really appreciate your advice.

It's too bad your MCAT dropped on the new version, at least on a overall percentile basis, but that shouldn't hurt you for USDO programs. Its still a decent score. Definitely not high enough to warrant a hail mary at USMD schools.

Your sGPA(science GPA) is an important metric for US schools, essentially calculate the gpa of all the science courses attempted. As long as thats not lower than your cGPA, you should be fine too. Your upward trend in your cGPA is a good thing - shows you improved over time.