Premed 101 Forums

Seeking Advice: Current Mac And/or Western Students - Ot

I have been accepted to Mac & Western for OT--YAY!  Now I need to choose a program and I'm hoping for some advice from current students or grads.

Quick background: My undergrad was Integrated Marketing Communication & Digital Media, Psychology Minor and I graduated 6 years ago from an American university.  My cumGPA: 3.8 / subGPA: 3.96.  I will be commuting from Kitchener/Waterloo.  (I had almost no science courses and the ones I did have are nowhere in my memory bank at this point.)

I was leaning toward McMaster, but have been seriously struggling with the PBL/SDL learning format.  I typically enjoy the traditional learning format, but I can understand the merit for PBL.  I recently got some feedback about the program from 2015 grads and it was almost unanimously negative.  The word "anxiety" was used far to frequently for comfort.  Not all, but some mentioned that interviewers/employers seem to favour Mac students because of how they were taught--advanced critical thinking/problem solving skills.  I don't know the accuracy of that idea. (I'm also not crazy about potential placements in Northern Ontario.)  

As for Western, I like that it's a more traditional format.  I've heard the labs are excellent and there are still a lot of group learning components (resembling PBL).  To me, it sounds more balanced and lacks the anxiety latent self directed learning.  I think I could be content here, but I worry that McMaster has the better program/provides more opportunity.  It's a further drive, but not by much and less busy.

I'm fully expecting school to be stressful, but stress and anxiety are very different and I don't want to hate the program after graduating; thinking back on it as the worst time in my life.  I want to be able to graduate and have the best chances of landing a decent job as soon as possible.