Premed 101 Forums

Chances For 2017 Pt Or Ot Program

Hi Everyone,

I am wondering if someone can help me in regards to chances of admission for the 2017 program.

I graduated in 2015 and just recently decided as to what I want to do with my life. I want to get into PT (first priority) and then OT program. My over cGPA is 3.3 whereas my sub-gpa is 3.5. I still need to take pre-requisites in physiology (6 credits), anatomy (3 credits), statistics (3 credits), and english (3 credits). Since I live in Alberta, there is also a requirement of a specific course by U OF A if you want to get into their PT program, which I also plan to take. I will be volunteering over the summer and all the way till December to complete the volunteer requirements. My questions is this:

If I do well on the pre-requisite courses I take plus about 4 or 5 months of volunteering, would I still be competitive enough for admission into the 2017 program? or do I need to take an additional year and raise my GPA even further. Assuming I am only talking about 18 overall credits that I would take, how much would I be able to raise my GPA to make me competitive? I am assuming a 3.6 after all these courses if I do really well on the prerequisite, or should I take one whole year worth of courses? I am just confused please help!

With a 3.6 sub gpa it would be difficult to get an admission offer. Queen's considers applicants with great work experience. You would make the gpa cut off for Queen's. Most PT programs want atleast 3.8 or higher subgpa and for OT you need around 3.7 to be competitive. Although the gpa requirements seem to go higher every year. You might have a chance at U of A's OT with a 3.6. Realistically it would be better to improve your gpa to atleast a 3.7 and then apply.